Hamburg Speicherstadt

Visitor Info

If you’re not from Germany, you may have never really thought about visiting Hamburg. This city is, however, well worth a visit – and we're not just saying that because we’re biased!

Hamburg has 2,303 bridges – more than Venice and Amsterdam combined. With over 90 consulates, this city is second only to New York city. Its port has been key in securing the city’s historical importance as well, as 5 million emigrants travelled through here during the first half of the 20th century. For them it was a gateway to the world. Today the port is still a gateway, but mainly with regard to logistics and tourism.

 

Hamburg Hafen

With a population of 1.7 million, Hamburg is Germany’s second largest city. The greater metropolitan region is home to 3.5 million. The city area is seven times bigger than Paris and two and half times bigger than London. As much as 14% of the city consists of green spaces and recreational areas, and the standard of living is remarkably high.

Here you’ll find an enticing mix of Hanseatic tradition, Bohemian underground culture and modernity. Not to mention the Red Light District, which is another something that causes tourists to turn their heads. Hamburgers seem cool at first, but that’s just their northern tendency for understatement talking – or not talking for that matter. After spending some time here, you’ll learn to appreciate their dry sense of humour and appreciation for culture and trade.

 

Needs translation: Hamburg Elbphilharmonie

Take a virtual tour through Hamburg and look at the pictures of the harbour and public parks. While you’re at it, why not check out what sights the city has to offer and make a must-see list before coming?

If you’re thinking about attending our festival – which we hope you are! – and need some help finding a hotel, take a look at our recommendations below. They are all very pleasant places to stay and are conveniently located for those who plan on attending our screenings.

We’ve also put some handy links below that, for transport information: getting here, and getting around.

Leuchtschild "Hotel"

Places to stay

Junges Hotel Hamburg
Kurt-Schumacher-Allee 14, 20097 Hamburg-Centrum
Tel. +49 (0)40 41 92 37 17

ARCOTEL Rubin Hamburg
Steindamm 63, 20099 Hamburg
Tel.: +49 (0)40 24 19 29 0

Hotel Hanseatin (women only)
Dragonerstall 11, 20355 Hamburg
Tel.: +40 (0)40 34 13 45, Fax: +49 (0)40 34 58 25

Hamburger U-Bahn vor Elbphilharmonie

getting around

Arriving by train: Deutsche Bahn

Arriving by plane: Hamburg Airport

Hamburg's public transport: HVV

Online tourist information: hamburg.de

Gästeinfo

Wenn du nicht aus Deutschland stammst, hast du vielleicht noch nie über einen Besuch in Hamburg nachgedacht. Die Stadt ist allerdings mehr als einen Besuch wert – und das sagen wir nicht nur einfach so.

Hamburg hat 2.303 Brücken vorzuweisen – mehr als Venedig und Amsterdam zusammen. Mit über 90 Konsulaten muss sie nur New York vorbeiziehen lassen. In der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts passierten 5 Millionen Auswanderer den Hafen, der in der Geschichte der Stadt ihre Bedeutung sicherte. Für die Auswanderer damals war Hamburg das Tor zur Welt. Heute ist der Hafen immer noch ein Tor, aber hauptsächlich für Handelslogistik und Tourismus.

 

Mit einer Einwohnerzahl von 1,7 Millionen ist Hamburg Deutschlands zweitgrößte Stadt. In der umliegenden Metropolregion leben nicht weniger als 3,5 Millionen Menschen. Die Stadtfläche ist sieben mal größer als die von Paris und zwei mal größer als die von London. Ungefähr 14% der Fläche besteht aus Grünflächen und Erholungsgebieten, und zudem ist der Lebensstandard bemerkenswert hoch.

Die spannende Mischung aus hanseatischer Tradition, bohème Underground Kultur und Moderne ist allgegenwärtig. Nicht zu vergessen das Rotlichtviertel rund um die Reeperbahn, welches ein absoluter Magnet ist, und Touristen staunend zurücklässt. Die Hamburger wirken auf den ersten Eindruck etwas kühl und wortkarg, aber das ist nur die zurückhaltende norddeutsche Mentalität. Nach einer Weile lernt man ihren trockenen Humor und das gute Gespür für Kultur und Handel zu schätzen.

 

Hamburg Elbphilharmonie

Unternehme doch schon ein mal eine virtuelle Tour durch Hamburg und sieh dir all die Bilder vom Hafen und den schönen Parks an. Und währenddessen kannst du dir auch schon notieren welche der tollen Sehenswürdigkeiten der Stadt du bei deinem Besuch ansehen willst! 

Wenn du planst, am Festival teilzunehmen – was wir natürlich hoffen – und noch ein bisschen Hilfe dabei brauchst, ein Hotel zu finden, sieh dir unsere Tipps an. Diese Hotels sind ausgezeichnete Unterkünfte und befinden sich praktischer Weise in der Nähe unserer Festivalorte.  Im Folgenden haben wir praktische Links zu Unterkünften und Verkehrsmitteln für dich zusammengestellt.

 

Übernachten

Junges Hotel Hamburg (rechte Seite)
Kurt-Schumacher-Allee 14, 20097 Hamburg-Centrum
Tel. +49 (0)40 41 92 37 17

ARCOTEL Rubin Hamburg
Steindamm 63, 20099 Hamburg
Tel.: +49 (0)40 24 19 29 0

Hotel Hanseatin (nur für Frauen)
Dragonerstall 11, 20355 Hamburg
Tel.: +40 (0)40 34 13 45, Fax: +49 (0)40 34 58 25

 

fortbewegen

Per Bahn: Deutsche Bahn

Per Flugzeug: Hamburg Airport

Öffentlicher Nahverkehr: HVV

Touristeninformation: hamburg.de